Skip to content
August 19, 2019

Aussie Will Power wins Indy 500 to give car owner Roger Penske No. 17

May 27, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS — Will Power has won the Indianapolis 500, giving the 37-year-old Australian his biggest victory on IndyCar’s grandest stage.

Power took the lead with four laps to go when Oriol Servia and Jack Harvey had to pit for fuel. Power then held off pole winner Ed Carpenter over the final few laps for the victory.

Will Power sends the milk flying as the Australian driver celebrates his Indy 500 win on Sunday. (Darron Cummings/AP)

It gave team owner Roger Penske a 17th win in the Indy 500 and it was Power’s second straight victory this season. He won the road-course event at Indy earlier this month.

Will Power celebrates Indy 500 win after taking the lead with four laps to go.
Will Power celebrates Indy 500 win after taking the lead with four laps to go. (Darron Cummings/AP)

With hot weather creating a slick, 2 1/2-mile oval, new cars with less downforce proved to be handful. And it cost a number of big-name drivers a shot at IndyCar’s most prestigious event. Defending race winner Takuma Sato, Danica Patrick, Sebastien Bourdais, three-time winner Helio Castroneves and Tony Kanaan lost control and wrecked.

Patrick was making the final start of her racing career, completing the “Danica Double” at the Indy 500. Bourdais crashed a year after missing the race because of a harrowing, high-speed accident during qualifying. Castroneves was going for a record-tying fourth victory in the 500.

Facebook Comments
Download Nulled WordPress Themes
Download WordPress Themes Free
Download Best WordPress Themes Free Download
Download Nulled WordPress Themes
udemy paid course free download